Post-Wedding Post: THE WEDDING THEME

While we were planning our wedding, we were asked most of the time, “what is your wedding theme?”, and we would always answer, “do we really need to have that?”. I mean, at the start, I was not into the idea of having one because Hans I have always been an unconventional couple. Haha. But later on we did realize that we really should have a wedding theme because well, once we have our theme, it’s a lot easier to coordinate the invitation, styling, favors, flowers, dresses, menu music and everything else.

So. Wedding Theme.

First and foremost, we decided which type of wedding theme suit our personalities and lifestyle.

I’m a vintage person. I love vintage. My friends would always kid around, calling me ‘Miss Minchi’n (remember Princess Sarah‘s teacher? YEP. Puffed sleeves, the collar. HAHA.) I’ve always loved the style, the fashion of the old. Hans, on the other hand, is modern. Well we both are. We are a mixture of both. Hans also is a BMX rider, so well, he’s more rugged. I am a dancer, and so we did a mixture of both worlds.

So yep, we decided to have MODERN VINTAGE as our theme. We got a lot of, “what the heck is that? modern na nga, vintage pa?” HAHAHAHAHA. But modern vintage is a favorite choice of couples to have as the wedding theme. We didn’t want a wedding that is too “theme-y”. We wanted a wedding classic yet fresh and modern, and comfortable.

My wedding gown was lace-y. I wanted a gown that’s fresh and well, classic. I removed my lace top during the reception.

9235299_orig

Our flower girls wore headdresses (courtesy of our florist) and beautiful ballerina-ish gowns.

The little boys wore a hat, suspenders and bow tie. Oh plus sneakers! :)

9740520_orig

The men in our entourage all wear bow ties and vests. Plus my husband asked them to wear sneakers, specifically vans. Haha!

9501671_orig

My mother wore a lace-y dress as well, incorporating the wedding colors black and yellow.

What people wore on our wedding day. :)

Our reception was held in Teatrillo, Intramuros, Manila. That wasn’t the original venue, mind you. We had a problem with our original reception venue, and we had to find a place in less that 3 weeks!!! (Gasp) But of course, “all things work together for good for those who love the Lord“. We were spared from the unprofessional people we dealt with earlier and we were blessed with a venue that well, screams our wedding theme!

This is how the venue looked like. It can accommodate 200 people. The flooring was literally bricks. Coolness!

We were catered K by Cunanan catering. If you’re getting married and you don’t have a caterer yet, I would recommend them. They are known for their expertise in styling and they are really easy to talk to. Plus the food is yummy! Everyone at our wedding kept telling us that the food was really remarkable.

Our wedding backdrop: old wooden backdrop with sofa and chandelier.

We weren't really particular with the flowers...

We just were very specific that we want twigs- and this is exactly how we pictured it!

As I’ve mentioned, once you have your wedding theme, everything else will follow. I’ll make a separate entry on our wedding favors.

To the couples who are yet to marry, have fun deciding which wedding theme the two of you most fit! Don’t just think that just because it’s the in theme or it’s what people love that’s gonna be your theme. This is YOUR wedding. Always remember that! :)

Here are a couple of blogs I found helpful when I was choosing my wedding theme:

1. micanonymous.wordpress.com

2. The Knot  (I believe this is everybody’s favorite!)

3. Green Wedding Shoes

4. Wedding Bee

Here’s to weddings! And here’s to beautiful, lasting marriages. ♥

2 thoughts on “Post-Wedding Post: THE WEDDING THEME

    • Blissfully Vintage: Thank you! :) I still have so much to post! Oh to have all the time in the world :)) thanks again!

Leave a Reply

